Let’s Show Love

A billboard in New Jersey is striking controversial issues about Christmas. The American Atheists group spent $20,000 on a billboard that is located by the tunnel that connects New Jersey and New York. The sign reads, “ You know it’s a myth. This season, celebrate reason.”

When I saw this story I was not sure how I felt about it at first. I looked into the story more and the more I read and the longer I watched the news video clip the sadder I became. I thought this great country I call home was founded on God. What makes this atheists group think it is okay to publically bash religion.

As I was watching the news video one of the leaders of the Atheist groups says how there is not an imaginary man in the sky. Well he is right; God is more than just an imaginary man. The longer I watched and played back the video feed I had an aching in my heart for this man. It makes me question if we as Christians have ruined how the world views Christianity.

America has an estimated 50 million atheists. As much as this story is a controversial story due to the billboard expressing that Christmas is fake and there is no Jesus. The story should be about how Christians need to get out of their comfort shell and show the love of Jesus to these atheists.

On the other side of the tunnel the Catholics placed a billboard reading: “You Know It’s Real: This Season Celebrate Jesus.”

“We decided to counterpunch after a donor came forward seeking to challenge the anti-Christmas statement,” said Bill Donohue, president of the Catholic League, a New York-based Catholic advocacy group (http://religion.blogs.cnn.com/2010/11/30/dueling-billboards-face-off-in-christmas-controversy/?hpt=C1).

Many people think it was right to place this billboard retaliating against the atheists, but what good is it really doing? That Catholic group spent $18,000 on one billboard, which seems a little wasteful and arrogant to me. Let’s show the love of Christ instead of placing billboards and fighting back and forth. Maybe then we call can have a Merry Christmas.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

