Steve Jobs impacts social media

As the world knows Steve Jobs, Apple’s CEO, died of pancreatic cancer on Oct. 5. I am an apple user and I never realized how often I incorporate Jobs into my everyday life. The first thing I touch in the morning is the snooze button on my iPhone. Then I proceed to checking my email on my MacBook after that I turn on my iTunes. Jobs is more involved in everyday life than most people think.

After reading blogs, news articles and tributes to Jobs I found myself feeling as if I knew the man on a first name basis.

 

Seven Lessons We’ve Learned from Steve Jobs” is a blog post that I found interesting because it spells out seven of the many ways Jobs created the apple brand.

Jobs created products that people wanted before they knew they wanted them.

“That doesn’t mean we don’t listen to customers, but it’s hard for them to tell you what they want when they’ve never seen anything remotely like it. Take desktop video editing. I never got one request from someone who wanted to edit movies on his computer. Yet now that people see it, they say, ‘Oh my God, that’s great!’” [Fortune, January 24 2000]

During my social media class we were asked to write a blog about Jobs in social media. Although Apple did not necessarily take part in creating a social media site, Jobs created a tool we use to access social media.

Each time I tweet, update my Facebook status and youtube, I find myself thinking “oh there is an application for that”. Without Jobs creating the apple products I think social media would still exist but it would not be on a level of immediacy we have it.

Some may think that Jobs missed out by not creating a social networking site, but when I look around my school I see students using Apple products I realize they are most likely either on a social networking site or writing a paper.

Steve Jobs has left an impact on our generation he will always be one of the world’s greatest inventors.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steve Jobs impacts social media

  1. jrobbins11 says:

    I agree with what you said about how Apple did not take part in creating social but they are a huge reason why social media is so popular today. I like to think one made the other popular but deciding which one did the making popular is like deciding if the chicken or the egg came first. Either way I think you did a great job remembering Steve Jobs and the impact he made and will continue to make on each of us, even after his death

Leave a Reply

